History Prize

In an endeavour to foster a love of history in young people the Launceston Historical Society sponsors various prizes for history students.

University Prize

The annual ┬áLaunceston Historical Society – Dr Marita Bardenhagen History Prize of $500 is awarded to a first year History student from the University of Tasmania studying at Launceston.

Senior Secondary Ratcliff Prize

An annual award of $200 is given to one grade 12 student from the following schools: Scotch Oakburn College, Launceston Church Grammar School, St Patrick’s College, Launceston Christian School, Launceston College and Newstead College.

Primary School Competition

Primary school students in the Launceston area are encouraged to enter a piece of historical research presented in a variety of formats. A combined award presentation is usually held at the Town Hall, Launceston.

Entries for the 2016 History Prize are now open.

History Prize Entry form 2016 pdf

History Prize Entry form 2016 word